Gallery

My story searching for Jesus

You might think that I don’t understand where you are at or what you are feeling about this whole thing but I was once as far from Jesus as possible.  I was born and raised in the Catholic Church.  When I was about 33 I fell away from the Church.  I felt myself searching for the truth, not just because my parents taught it to me, but I needed to know that I truly had the truth.  Part of growing up and maturing I guess.  The whole time I was away, I felt a hole in my heart for the Eucharist but I wanted to do my own research.  It took me about 9 years to finally come to a conclusion.  I came back to the Church in 2008 and had never felt such love and forgiveness and mercy from God and Jesus in my whole life.  I’ve had some people tell me that I went back just because it was what I was raised with.  This couldn’t be farther from the truth!  I had an open mind for all of my options, all 40,000 or so, denominations worth.  But the more I researched it, the more it brought me to the Catholic Church.  I guess the fact that the Church is 2,000 years old spoke to me deeply.  Any church with that kind of history has to have something right.  The other thing that struck me was that when I researched the Eucharistic Miracles, it kept coming back that it truly is the Body and Blood of Jesus, and I can’t find that in any other church.  I wanted the real thing!  I wanted what Jesus promised for my salvation.

For the last three years, I have been doing a lot of research trying to help friends and family with their faith walk.  I don’t claim to be any expert on the subject but I have experienced the hole in my heart of the absence of Jesus and I have experienced Jesus filling that hole up with his mercy and love again.  What I found during my struggle of searching for the truth is trying to figure out what is the truth and what isn’t.  I think that’s the hardest part.  If you look at the history of all the churches, that will give you an idea of where the true church of Jesus is and where you can start.

I had some questions and things that were hard to understand but the more I thought about it the more it made sense.

Please make yourself open to trusting in God’s mercy.  Let Him guide you home.

If the Church has harmed you in any way, I apologize for any wrongdoing. We are all sinners.  Even the Pope and Bishops are sinners because we are all human.

The Catholic Church is a hospital for sinners, not a house of saints.

No one would be judging you.  All of us are sinners.  The Church just wants to offer God’s mercy and love to you.  All you have to do is seek it out and it will be yours.  That’s what I did and I have never been sorry.  I can’t believe the path He has led me down, all because I trusted in Him.

Leave a Reply

